Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hi, I'm New Here!

Hi! (Newbie who rescued a young and injured snake)

Hi! I'm a newbie, both to this forum and to snakes in general. I have always found them fascinating and wanted one, but hadn't gotten around to actually looking for one yet.

So one found me. I was walking through my basement and nearly stepped on a 10" eastern garter snake. She (at least I think she is a "she," from what I can tell by looking at the tail shape) was cold and had the end of her tail crushed. I think my cat got a hold of her.

So I caught her and put her in a little aquarium I had handy, and did some reading about garters on the Internet. I am hoping that the Neosporin that I am putting on her tail will help it to heal nicely without infection. It's just the tip that is injured - a little blood and maybe a broken vertebrae or two. I am sure that she must be in a considerable amount of pain, though she is active and doesn't seem to mind brushing it up against things.

My son and I made her a little house out of Legos where she could hide, and she absolutely loves it. I lined it with a paper towel, and she snuggles up in there quite readily.

I am getting ready to get her a proper (larger) habitat and some real supplies - I am making do with makeshift stuff for now - a deep plastic lid for a drinking bowl, a Lego hiding spot, etc.

One thing that concerned me is that she drank and then threw up a good bit of water when I put her in the cage (we've only had her for a day now). Is this just because she's scared and stressed? She seems healthy, except for the tail injury, and has been industriously trying to figure out how to escape her cage, lol. I am afraid to try feeding her until she has had a few days to settle down and get used to people, but I also don't want her to starve to death. How do you know when a snake is hungry?