Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    "First shed, A Success" Barak666's Avatar

lightning and dimension

Hi I start thinking about building a garter (Thamnophis sirtalis concinnus) vivarium soon and was planning for the budget and costruction details. Did the garter need UVb lightning as they are diurn animal? or is it white light enough?

An overall viva of 24"X38"X16" with encastrate water tank 24"X11"X16" (lXdXh) in the floor, so a 24"X 27"X16" dry soil. Would it be enough for 2 garters?

I'm new in the snake captivity, got more experience with marine fishes and tropical lezard (CWD) but want the best setup for the garters and a nice looking vivarium

That's my interogations for now

Thank

Mathieu

p.s. use to speak french so sorry for my english

Re: lightning and dimension

Your English works for me .... mon Francais est vraiment mauvais.
    Garters are diurnal ... UVB is not essential but some people have reported increased breeding success with it. A less than 5% UVB tube certainly won't do any harm so it's your choice.
    Sounds like a fair size of enclosure although I would be wary of too large a water area. Difficult to keep sanitary and bacteria could be an issue. Having a large water bowl would be a better option in my opinion.
    Keeping - 'Florida blue' sirtalis, concinnus, infernalis, parietalis, radix, marcianus and ocellatus.

For the aquatic part, I have a 36gal aquarium in my water dragon enclosure, all of it filter and water change once a week.I was planning on doing something the same style. For the garter, I want to planted the tank (do the garter are hard on plants?) and having a decant tank (12X12X10) where the pump and filters will be place.

Banned