Hi, I'm New Here! garter newbie's Avatar

Hi! I'm new to garters.

Hi! My name is Chrissy! I am married with (2) nature loving boys living in southeastern PA. Last week we came across a garter snake in our yard. My dog was sniffing at something under the grass. At first I thought it was a big slug but once it started moving I realized it was a garter. Of couse, my 7 y/o son begged me to let him keep it. Hence, here I am. I don't know very much about garters except what I've read online at this and other sites and the basic info sheet from the pet store. I have lots of questions but am sure I can get the help I need here . I am new to forums as well so bear with me as I learn the ins and outs of it.

Chrissy

Re: Hi! I'm new to garters.

Welcome to the forum!!! Ask away and we will do our best to answer any questions you have!!!

Dutch, bold and Thamnophis-crazy Thamnophis's Avatar

Hello Chrissy from Philadelphia.

Welcome on this forum. Answers to your questions will be no problem, I think.

Greetings from the Netherlands.

Fons
    It is always advisable to be a loser if you cannot become a winner. Frank Zappa

Welcome aboard, Chrissy. If you haven't seen Alan Francis' website yet, it's a great place to start gathering information, but for starters, the temperature that the snake experiences (at the bottom of the cage, unless you have a basking spot near the top) is the most important. Also, abcat1993 makes a good point that your snake will need a while to acclimate to warmer temperatures before it will eat. Make sure there are plenty of small hiding spots (like under the leaves) to give the snake a sense of comfort while it acclimates. They like to feel the the edges touching them. Have fun,
    Rick

Alan's Garter Snakes - Maintenance of Garter Snakes