Hi, I'm New Here!

Lightbulb Help with New Jersey Storeria Dekayi (Northern Brown Snake) / Baby Snakes

(Pictures included!)

This is a fairly long one, but I'm new to snakes and I want to ensure my little snake (and her babies) live the best life possible!

I live near Newark, New Jersey. While cutting my lawn on July 1, I found a snake about 15" long. I had seen similar snakes dead in my streets, so I decided to rescue the guy and bring him in.

As far as I can tell, it's a Storeria Dekayi (Northern Brown Snake). She shed within a few days; she was easy to pick up and generally pretty calm. I did pick her up a few times and she went berserk, so I've gotten better at spotting when she is ready for being picked up and when she wants her alone time.

She currently lives in a small cage, with a a fist-sized cave (that doubles as a water bowl), a few inches of dirt from where I found her, and various foliage (leaves, rotting wood, etc). I watch her with the lid off, and she seems unable to escape.

I've been digging up worms from where I found her (3" to 6" in length) as well as slugs (1" to 3" in length); I'm pretty sure she only ate one really small worm, once. She may have eaten one or two chunks I cut up, but, then again, she may have just hid them in the dirt. She certainly never eats in front of me when I put the small, live worm in the cage with her.

She recently had babies (first time learning it was a "she" -- is there any other way to tell? I couldn't even tell she had eight little snakes in her!), so she must have been pregnant when I found her. She is certainly thinner after having babies (I woke up to find them all around the cage.. all alive, is that common? I think they give live birth? that would have been cool to see) and her skin looked ragged. She shed, and she looks really healthy (for what I can tell) now.