Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Breeding Advice

Breeding Advice

Hey guys, as some of you may know, I am fairly new to breeding garters. What steps (after coming out of brumation) do you guys take to get them breeding? How long does it take them to breed after taking them out of brumation? I hope that this thread helps me personally, as well as people who want to breed garters next year. Any and all advice will be appreciated, please advice only, discussion is discouraged.
    -Greg
    1.1T.s. concinnus, 1.1 T.s. parietalis, 1.0 T.s. semifasciatus, 0.1 T. radix
    "Garters are predictable. Predictably variable" - Neil Balchan

Re: Breeding Advice

There is no set time for any of this. Nature will take its course. I've had males lockup with females a few minutes after placing them together. Then its taken a few weeks and on some occasions it never happens. Nature will do what nature does.
    Steve
    5 awesome kids!
    Emmy, Kale, Molly, Gabby, Hailee
    They are not just snakes. They're garter snakes.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/thamnophis14?feature=mhee

"PM Boots For Custom Title" d_virginiana's Avatar

Might depend on how horny they are lol. My 12 year old male that's never mated before starts putting the moves on my female after about 30 seconds, even without being brumated. Once or twice he's tried courting what was apparently a very attractive cage decoration
    Lora

3.0 T. sirtalis sirtalis, 1.1 T. cyrtopsis ocellatus, 1.0 L. caerulea, 0.1 C. cranwelli, 0.1 T. carolina, 0.1 P. regius, 0.1 G. rosea, 0.0.1 B. smithi, 0.1 H. carolinensis

"First shed In Progress" woody44's Avatar

My vagrans were locked up within 5-10 minutes

It's been 3 days since they came out. No lockups, no copulatory plugs . I hope mine breed. I am really nervous.
    -Greg

Chill out. It's got nothing to do with you. Give them some time and space.You don't watch them 24/7 so it might have happened already.
    Steve
    5 awesome kids!
    Emmy, Kale, Molly, Gabby, Hailee