Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Identifying a Mixed Bag

I'm a novice hand at this, so I was hoping for a little guidance. If I posted photos of a mixed group of local garters that was dropped off on me, could I borrow your collected experience and brains on which is what and what is which? I can sex them just fine, but figuring out if these are all variations of the same species, or different ones is giving me a headache. Most of these are T. marcianus, but there's enough color variation in a few that I'm not sure about them.

Does anyone mind? If not, pictures will be incoming.

Re: Identifying a Mixed Bag

I would think it shouldn't be a problem.
    Steve
    5 awesome kids!
    Emmy, Kale, Molly, Gabby, Hailee
    They are not just snakes. They're garter snakes.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/thamnophis14?feature=mhee

Sounds like fun
    Keeping - 'Florida blue' sirtalis, concinnus, infernalis, parietalis, radix, marcianus and ocellatus.

I'd love to see all the snakes and maybe I'll know one of them
    Chantel
    2.2.3 Thamnophis ordinoides Derpy Scales, Hades, Mama, Runt, Pumpkin, Azul, Spots
    (Rest in peace Snakey, Snap, Speckles, Silver, Ember and Angel.)

Okay, there were ten garters in this bag (and a pair of really cute water snakes), and I've divided them up into three different combinations. I'm only showing a few examples of each, or in the case of one, just one. Allow me to preface this by saying that a guy who loves herping (but not keeping) handed them off to me. I'd herp myself, but I can't go out into the heat without getting sicker than a dog...hooray unknown autoimmune disorders.

The lighting is bad because of a damaged camera. It's hard to tell, but I had two bright lamps on the snakes to try and get their true colors, but it didn't work. I'll put a brief description up of each in the hopes of giving you more information.

#1) Male - With amazingly dark pigment, a rich chocolate brown with an almost pink to melon stripe down the middle.