Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    "Preparing For First shed" taharial's Avatar

New babies, with still borns

Hi All!

I'm new to garter snakes. I found one that had an injury and was going to release it in a few days after I fed it. It shed twice since I found it, and looked heathy. Apparently it is a she, since she just had babies 15 minutes ago... WOW that was cool! I looked in the tank, and I thought she was pooping an orange sac... then came four babies.

Looking for a little help, one of the four started slithering around, the other three have not moved. I reached in the tank, and they are still warm. One is still in what looks like a thick caul/amniotic sac, and the other two are just laying there... One had it's mandible bent backwards, so I moved it and tried to put in a more natural position. What should I do to help them?

Sorry, did a quick google search and found this page, and wanted to get the question out before it is too late to help the little ones, they are so dang cute. I'll look around the page for info too.
    Thanks!

Re: New babies, with still borns

How are they right now?
    Kat
    2.2 T.s.pickeringii, 0.4.7 T.ordinoides 1.1 T.marcianus 1.1 T. radix 1.0 T.s.parietalis 1.2 Pseudacris regilla

One was moving a little, but did not make it. I tried helping the one in the amniotic sac, but while it was developing it's mouth was open, and was completely clamped around it's mid abdomen and what looks like the yolk sack... =( Sigh...

New question, I though mom was done giving birth, and got the mouse out of the tank... Now she is moving around, and it looks like she might have one more in her. Is this hazordous for her, or the unborn?