Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Smile Newbie Help Please

K so I have a babie Common garter snake she is 9-12 inches long(hard to messure her) I feed her Slugs, worms and guppies and i have a few questions

1. how old do you think she is( based on her length btw she is about a wide as a pencil maby thicker is some spots)
    2.when can i start her on full pinkys(dont want to cut them up just seems nasty sory)
    3.when can i move her to a 10 gallon(shes in a 5 gallon)

Re: Newbie Help Please

1. someone else answer this, maybe six months? i'm still new to the garter world and not that familiar with growth rates on these guys.
    2. now. plenty big enough to swallow a whole pink. may need to scent it with worms or guppies if it's not interested.
    3. now if you'd like. make sure to have some hides.

hope that helps.
    mike

I would have to see a photo of the snake...will need to see one to determine what kind of snake it is...and a shot of the underbelly of the snake down near the bottom of the tail to determine sex. After we determine the kind of garter and sex, we may be able to take a guess at age. I would be careful feeding slugs...some can be bad for garters. Please take a look at our caresheet...it will help you with many questions you may have and in caring properly for your new snake. We are here to answer any questions the sheet does not answer for you. Garter Snake Forum - Garter Caresheet
    Marnie
    3.3 T.s.sirtalis 1.0 T.marcianus 1.2 T.radix 1.0 T.s.parietalis
    Izzy, Seeley, Ziggy, Perseus, Peanut, Snapper, Hermes, Sadie, Osiris, Seraphina, Little Joe

what marnie said. photos will help a lot more
    mike

"PM Boots For Custom Title" Selkielass's Avatar

If s/he is captive born, could be as little as a year. If wild caught, probably at least two years old.
    It depends on how small a pinky you can find- if you have a local supplier who sells extra small pinkies, she may be able to take them now.