Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hi, I'm New Here!

Wild caught and injured

My mom's boyfriend picked up a baby garter by the tail in our front garden. It did the "helicopter" thing and broke the end of it's tail off. It isn't bleeding, but the poor thing appears to be in pretty rough shape already. I think it's dehydrated and hungry, it's in a standard hospital set-up, so it does have water if it wants. Should I feed it now, or wait until the stress wears off a bit? I don't want to risk a regurgitation. It's scales are rough and lifting, with some patches that look like injuries, though I can't tell if they're new or old. It's extremely docile, which I'm sure has more to do with terror than temperament. I have no experience with wild caught or garters, and I'd really appreciate any help you can give me. I'll post some pics once it's had a bit of a chance to adjust to the new settings. Thanks!

Smells Like Teen Spirit Invisible Snake's Avatar

Re: Wild caught and injured

I would wait 2-3 days before feeding him so he can adjust to his new setting. Any updates on him?

Photos would be great to get a look at the scale situation. A water dish on paper towels and a hide are a pretty basic setup.
    What makes you think it is dehydrated? Where are you located(State)?
    Steve
    5 awesome kids!
    Emmy, Kale, Molly, Gabby, Hailee
    They are not just snakes. They're garter snakes.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/thamnophis14?feature=mhee

Hi, I'm New Here!