Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Omg omg omg

Omg omg omg

Well imagine my surprise when I looked into the tank of my Eastern and saw a bunch of little ones running around! Holy crap! I didn't know. She's been with me for at least a couple months.

I'm gonna need immediate advice! I'm about to separate them... babies out of tank or mama?

Smells Like Teen Spirit Invisible Snake's Avatar

Re: Omg omg omg

I would take the mama out since it's easier than taking out several babies. I'm not that experienced with garter births, so I can't offer much help, but I know you have to keep them hydrated, some damp moss or paper towels should help with that, also their water dish should be a shallow one, one that is easy for them to get in and out of. And you can try offering them food about 24 hours after birth although some may not eat until a couple of days later. Congratulations!! Post pics when you can =]

Ok...

So more the the story and some pics. So back on May 28th, I found a fairly mid to large (by my standards) garter going out to dinner for some frog legs. After a fairly comical capture, which is documented here: Today's addition to the family, I brought him/her home to a nicely waiting tank.

My girlfriend has always thought she was BIG... and she is a little bigger than my previous two garters, but she had a healthy supply of frogs and it really just seemed like she was a bit bigger.

Aside from a healthy appetite, I didn't see anything out of the ordinary until earlier today (meaning yesterday actually). My girlfriend and I are standing there watching her discussing how big she thinks she is and how she nervous about feeding her. Well of course I think that's humorous, but when I put my finger to the tank glass, she totally struck at my finger! She had been recently fed, so I didn't jump to the conclusion that she was really hungry, but a couple more tests of finger to the glass each resulted in getting struck at, so I decided to just leave her be for the moment.