Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Subadult snake

san francisco garters

I was wondering if anyone has attempted to breed these garters and reintroduce them into the wild in an effort to help their numbers. I am fairly new to the breeding aspect of these snakes but the people here seem very good at it. So has anyone (that you know of) attempted this? and are there even any snakes available to breed in the first place.

I know that after a few generations of breeding in captivity it wouldn't be a good idea to release these snakes but what about catching gravid females and raising the young to a more favorable size to increase the odds of survival?

maybe this idea is very far fetched but i figured id toss it out there to try and get some feedback.

thanks for reading

Re: san francisco garters

Their numbers isn't really a problem. The problem is that big concrete and asphalt thing, right in the middle of their former habitat, called San Francisco.

Anyway, it shouldn't even be attempted if it's not a part of a larger organized effort.

Banned

There is plenty of organized effort. There is enough wild snakes to keep the species from going extinct. BARELY. The main focus is, and needs to be, preservation and restoration of suitable habitat. Unfortunately, real estate prices are very high and the developers desire the same landscape that the snakes depend on. Also, development around the existing populations is hurting them due to runoff and other water quality issues, and the waning frog populations. Even in existing suitable habitat, where the there are no frogs, there are no garters either. It's a complex environmental situation that they depend on for survival.

Simply increasing their numbers by introducing captive bred snakes won't help. The excess population will just die off.

It's a catch 22 situation by NOT allowing collecting. As the gene pool narrows, hope for keeping the species alive even if only in captivity, fades.