Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Hi, I'm New Here!

Unhappy Completely clueless...

I'd been wanting a snake for a while, but various finances have kept me back. However, last friday (11/2) a friend of my mother's gave me an Eastern Ribbon Snake. Unfortunately, I'm starting to get worried. He's not eating (I don't know when he was last fed, he hasn't eaten once since I got him on Friday) and I honestly don't know what to feed him. I got him some feeder fish at the pet store, and am planning on going back tomorrow so I can try crickets. Three of the feeder fish currently reside in his (dechlorinated) water bowl.

Is this normal? I'm also looking for an exotic pet veterinarian in the area, so I can get him checked. I want to be a good owner, but I have little to no experience in the care and keeping of snakes. Do you have any advice for me? There's a chance he might've been taken from the wild as well, I've never met the man who gave it to me (as I said, my mother's friend, and he has a busy schedule) and I'm not quite sure what to do.

Re: Completely clueless...

Don't bother with crickets. They aren't garter/ribbon food.

It's not uncommon for snakes to refuse food for several days after moving in. I assume it has a hide and that the temperatures are okay?

Edgy Exotic Reptiles EdgyExoticReptiles's Avatar

depending on size garters can go a long time without food one week i wouldn't be worried unless its baby, Make sure you get rosy minnows instead of goldfish, goldfish are bad for them, they will not eat crickets usually garters wont eat for a while when they are getting settled into a new home
    Quote Originally Posted by Hatter1214 View Post