Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi, I'm New Here! Chondropython's Avatar

A horror story I hope everyone can learn from

My name is Marcial Mendez, and this is my first post here. I've been keeping and breeding snakes for close to 35 years. I am now primarily an arboreal python / boa breeder, but my first snake was a western red-sided garter when I was 6 years old, and I thought it would be cool to add a few nice garters to my collection.

I wish that my first post would be something better, but here goes...

Several months ago, I contract Jeff Benfer about a yearling neon blue phase cali red sided garter... I've always loved these, and I couldn't resist the opportunity to snag a beautiful older-than-hatchling female. Jeff and I ended up making a deal on her and a 2014 male. The male was feeding on worms, and Jeff agreed to get him on pink parts for me before sending.

Fast forward a few months to this week. Jeff let me know that the male was ready to go, and he shipped to me on Monday.

They arrived in perfect condition, and I was blown away with their colors and how nice they were.

As a typical course of action for new arrivals, I quarantine in a separate part of the house, and, as a precaution, I treat tubs with Provent-a-mite spray. I've never had mites, and it is something that I am extremely paranoid about, so I treat for them regardless of where a new animal might come from. I have used this product for 15+ years on everything from baby green tree pythons and emerald tree boas to kingsnakes and tortoises, and I have never once had any problems. Once dry, the product is supposed to be harmless to vertebrates. Well, I learned the hard way that that is not the case.