Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Housing Snakes?

Housing Snakes?

I know this has been discussed...and opinions vary but what would YOU do? I now have 2 easterns and 2 brown snakes. Would you put the garters together and the browns together...or would you have 4 seperate enclosures. The first garter is almost double the size of the new one. The first brown is a few inches longer than the new one. There may also be an issue with one or more of them being gravid...I'm no expert. Anyways, all I'm looking for is opinions. Thanks and take care all.
    Jerry

Re: Housing Snakes?

I would set up 4 different enclosures, two of them would be temporary and just until the new garter catches up a bit and until the brown snake gives birth.

Then again, I'm pretty paranoid about cannibalism. Maybe the garter would do fine in there with the bigger one. Maybe someone else has an opinion on that issue.

The brown snakes should actually be placed together, unlike many other snakes, Dekay brown snakes will interact and "mingle" (for lack of other words) We have kept a trio of browns in a 30" x 12" 30 gallon for nearly 3 years now.

I removed the babies as soon as born, and placed all of them in a 10 gallon tank away from the adults.

If you wind up with baby Dekays, ask me how to feed them. with 2 litters and about close to 50 babies raised, and a litter of red bellies (hers was 28!!!!) we got them all fed and started, it is hard work, but fun.

I have a couple WC garters together too, no problems.

Wayne, thanks for the advice...I'll put my browns in the same enclosure. I'll definitely contact you if she is gravid.
    Jerry

Quote Originally Posted by Stefan-A View Post
    Then again, I'm pretty paranoid about cannibalism. Maybe the garter would do fine in there with the bigger one. Maybe someone else has an opinion on that issue.
    Stefan, I cannot really give an observation, my thoughts have always been better safe than sorry. The babies just seemed safer to me alone.