PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm a newbie :D

RoteLowin
01-21-2012, 06:53 AM
Hi guys! I'm Cristina and I'm from Switzerland... Sorry, but my English is quite bad and often I can't express my self correctly... so forgive me :D
I've owned a garter snake (thamnophis sirtalis) for about 3 years... It's really beautiful and cute, although I don't know if it's a male or a female and usually tries to bite my fingers!
I hope to find some help and pieces of advice to keep it as best as possible! I'm especially interested to learn more about feeding... I read your "Garter Caresheet" but I've got some questions :o Because on Italian websites they say different things so I got a little confused.
Anyway I've got some other pets... 9 rats, 3 mice, a dog and some goldfishes ^^
I hope to learn many things here, it seems to be such an interesting forum! Thank you and see your around! (grammar disaster :confused: )
Ps. What is the life span of a thamnophis sirtalis? They told me 8 years but I'm not sure about that

Stefan-A
01-21-2012, 07:34 AM
Welcome aboard.

GarterGuy17
01-21-2012, 07:44 AM
Hello Christina , welcome to the forum. Don't worry your english is fine I can understand you perfectly. According to Scott Felzer , a very well known breeder of garters ( Thamnophis ) says the average life expectancy is 10 year's. As for for the snake we can tell you what species and sex if you don't know them , but we will need pictures of your snake his/her head,body and his/her cloaca ( located between body and tail ). As for feeding ask away there are many things to be aware of when it comes to what not to feed and what can hurt the snake. So again welcome aboard we look forward to seeing you snake. :)

Mommy2many
01-21-2012, 08:41 AM
Welcome to our forum! Your English is just fine. Post some pictures of your snake (bottom side) and we should be able to tell you if it is a girl or a boy.

indigoman
01-21-2012, 08:51 AM
welcome to the forum!

EasternGirl
01-21-2012, 09:15 AM