PDA

View Full Version : Hi from New York City

zendragondrew
10-09-2011, 08:16 PM
Hello, my name is Andrew and I'm a police officer in New York City. Another cop at work was given a garter snake by a laundry mat owner who said he found it on the street. She gave it to me in a Gatorade bottle and I've had him for the past two or three months.

His name is Matt (though I think Matt might be a girl) and is about two feet long and pretty thin. I have him in a 10 gallon tank with a log to live in, a stick and a water dish. He has a daytime light and a night light (red light), the night one is a little cooler than the day one.

I started off feeding him minnows, the first feeding I only fed him about 6 of them. Then I upgraded to larger goldfish and fed him about 8 to 10 per feeding. I've been reading that goldfish are bad for snakes so I started feeding him frozen pinkie mice. I was told two or three pinkie mice is enough for a feeding. Is that right?

Does anyone have tips on how much to feed him, what sort of fish are safe for him to eat (or just stick to mice?) or any other advice. I always wanted a snake when I was a kid, but my mom was afraid of them so this is my first and only snake. Any advice you guys could give me would be appreciated! Thanks!

katach
10-09-2011, 11:27 PM
Welcome to the forum family! You have a pretty snake! Looks to be an eastern. We have a wonderful site here full of great information. This is a great first start. Garter Snake Care Sheet - Caresheets (http://www.thamnophis.com/caresheets/index.php?title=Garter_Snake_Care_Sheet). If you could post a underside view of the vent we can tell you if you have a boy or a girl. Again, welcome!

I personally feed our adult snakes 2 to 3 pinkies a week with a worm or chunk of salmon as a mid week snack. Some feed less more often.

infernalis
10-09-2011, 11:38 PM
http://www.thamfriends.com/mat.jpg

PINJOHN
10-10-2011, 01:52 AM
Welcome from a gale smitten Liverpool