PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Montana!

xStatic
08-03-2011, 02:02 PM
Hi everyone (:

I'm new to garters, but not to snakes. I just got my first garter, a pretty little albino checkered girl. I've always loved garter snakes. We have tons of them around here by and in the rivers. They're definitly the most visible snakes. Always out sunning themselves on the biking and hiking paths. I've always caught them but never tried to keep them. I decided to go for a CB garter and I just love the look of albino checkered, so when I came across a nice female at a good price, I snatched her up! No name as of yet, I'm going to wait and see how here temperment is. She's not too old so it probably wont be the best indicator anyway, but still.

Also, just looking for some suggestions. ATM I'm going to hook up a UTH with a thermostat, but since garters like to bask and my other snakes are nocturnal, I wasn't sure if she would prefer a basking light in addition to the UTH?

Stefan-A
08-03-2011, 02:05 PM
Welcome aboard.

RedSidedSPR
08-03-2011, 02:29 PM
Welcome to the forum!

personally, I prefer heat lamps, and I think it's better for a lot of reasons. I don't think you'd need both, but I do lamp instead oh UTH... Some people do UTH though, and I'm sure it's fine.

xStatic
08-03-2011, 02:41 PM
Thanks! What wattage would you suggest for a 10g glass viv with a screen lid?
Is it alright to use a infrared bulb all 24 hours?
There should be plenty of daylight coming in through the windows to light up the room.
How long do these bulbs typically last?
I'm assuming I will need to use a higher wattage once winter comes along, but right now the house stays at a very consistent 75 degrees fahrenheit

As you can probably tell, I've only ever used UTH's and I don't want to end up screwing something up or having to go buy and test out 10 different bulbs

PINJOHN
08-03-2011, 02:45 PM
Welcome from liverpool, glad you have woken up to the greatest of all snakes. :d:D

RedSidedSPR