PDA

View Full Version : breeding garter snakes?

redfoxtrystman
08-02-2011, 02:22 AM
Can anyone tell me if different breeds or different species of garter snakes together?

I have a Thamnophis sirtalis concinnus - Oregon red-spotted garter snake (http://www.gartersnake.co.uk/mycollection.htm#concinnus) :) and I want to get a Thamnophis sirtalis - "Crimson" or "Flame" Garter Snake (http://www.gartersnake.co.uk/mycollection.htm#Thamnophis sirtalis - flame garter) and see what I get.

Im new to the idea of breeding snakes.

I would also like info on some data web sites or good books that might help.

I grew up breeding rabbits and my mom bred english angoras for ten years and through breeding she was able create the broken strain that was eventually acknowledged as a real breed.

I also know that you can breed almost any breed of rabbit with another. Is this possible with garters as well?

mb90078
08-02-2011, 09:35 AM
It is possible to hybridize garters, but it is highly frowned upon, both here on this forum, and in the pet trade in general.

Furthermore, if you did try to cross those two snakes, the result would not be what you're expecting, I can almost 100% guarantee that.

guidofatherof5
08-02-2011, 10:13 AM
Hybridized garters. Mark me don't as a "bad idea".

Just because you can, doesn't mean you should.
No offense.;)

Odie
08-02-2011, 01:35 PM
Hi, from Hillsboro, Redfoxtrystman :)

kibakiba
08-02-2011, 05:04 PM
It is extremely frowned upon. In a way, when you do that, you're wrecking everyone's attempted to keep all of the lines pure. Garter snakes are NOT boas, pythons and corns. They don't need to be hybridized to do anything. If you want to know what you'll create, imagine it in your head and nothing more. Hybrids are worth a lot less than pure garters, mostly because no one wants them.

RedSidedSPR
08-02-2011, 05:12 PM
I personally wouldn't be interested in hybrid snake.

guidofatherof5
08-02-2011, 05:27 PM