PDA

View Full Version : I'm new - Pls help identify this snake!

tonyb
07-18-2011, 03:30 PM
Hi, I just joined this forum to see if you can help me identify this snake.

Hi, I'm new to this forum, I have joined to learn more about these beautiful reptiles. I apologize for my bad English and try Irlo better with practice. And like all good again, and give trouble coming hehe. Anyone could tell me the species of this issue. I am a student of Biology and a neighbor let this snake abandoned since got bored of it, I said that got in Sinaloa, Mexico. Thank you all for taking the time to read my topic and answer my question. Regards

Please can someone help figure out what kind of snake this might be.
Thankssss for your help!

kibakiba
07-18-2011, 06:03 PM
Wow she's pretty. I don't know much about Mexican species of garters, though, sorry.

guidofatherof5
07-18-2011, 06:17 PM
At first glance I see T. atratus but they don't range that far South and the dorsal isn't wide enough.

Could be Thamnophis melanogaster
Photographic Library - Caresheets (http://www.thamnophis.com/caresheets/index.php?title=Photographic_Library#Thamnophis_me lanogaster_.28Mexican_Black-Bellied_Garter_Snake.29)

ConcinusMan
07-18-2011, 06:34 PM
Sinaloa, Mexico is definitely at the very heart of melanogaster's range. Right in the middle of where they occur.

Information about Thamnophis melanogaster:

"The species is listed as Endangered (In danger of extinction) because it has suffered a population reduction of at least 50% in the past 10 years, inferred from destruction of its freshwater habitat due to agricultural and industrial water pollution. This trend is ongoing. This species is known from southwestern Chihuahua with disjunct populations from central Durango southward to Zacatecas, western Jalisco, Nayarit, Aguascalientes, Guanajuato, northern Michoacan, Estado de Mexico and Distrito Federale in Mexico. It occurs at elevations of 1,158 to 2,545 m"