PDA

View Full Version : Possibly a stupid question...

DeadlyGlories
05-09-2007, 01:08 AM
Hello. I'm kind of new to keeping garters, and snakes in general... And I'm wanting to switch my garter over from minnows to pinks... But the problem I'm having is this...

I don't have the intestinal fortitude to cut the pinks into pieces, or handle them, once they have been. I have no problem with the whole ones, though.

I've looked all over, and I'm unable to find an answer to this...

How long/big around should a garter be, before you start trying to feed it whole pinks?

Any help in this would be much appreciated.

Thamnophis
05-09-2007, 07:47 AM
Mine ate their first, complete pinky when they were about 25-30 cm. long

DeadlyGlories
05-09-2007, 03:13 PM
Thank you so much! Mine is slightly longer than that, so I suppose now is the time to start trying, at least.

It's a shame that so many petstores know nothing of garter snakes. One of the local ones actually sold me a dozen goldfish to feed mine. It's sad, ignorance should never be tolerated in petstores. I finally found one who was knew garters could eat mice, I'll stick with them.

abcat1993
05-09-2007, 03:24 PM
I can understand that, because at least they knew about them eating fish, but my Pet store feeds them crickets. My snake ate a pinky when it was about 10-12 inches long.

adamanteus
05-09-2007, 03:32 PM
I seems that your Garter Snake is big enough to take whole pink mice, but don't forget the importance of variety in your snakes diet. You could vary his diet with various fish and occasional worms. Take a look at our Garter Snake Care Sheets.
http://www.thamnophis.com/caresheets/index.php?title=Garter_Snake_Care_Sheet
You'll find an abundance of helpful information in there. And what you can't find, just ask in the forum. Welcome here, and enjoy yourself.

mikm
05-09-2007, 06:57 PM