PDA

View Full Version : Question about transporting a snake.

Reptar!
02-22-2011, 02:11 AM
Well to start, Hello everyone. My name is Keaton. I am fairly new to the whole keeping snakes as pets. I have had some before but not for an extended period of time. I usually go out and catch a couple and keep them for a few days and let them go again, then I go catch different ones. My question is about snakes from out of state. I live in Colorado. And my family lives in Iowa. I caught some red sided garters, I don't know the scientific name I apologize. I was wondering if I caught one out there and brought here, would it suffer from any altitude sicknesses or anything like that? I know I could buy one. However, I prefer catching them. Do you guys know of any risks to my method? Also would the snake be at any risk of the Colorado environment if for some reason I had to let the little guy free? Please let me know what you think. Would I be better off just not doing it? :confused:

Stefan-A
02-22-2011, 03:14 AM
Catching snakes for a few days and then releasing them causes them unnecessary stress and may even help spread diseases. I recommend getting a captive bred one and keeping it permanently.

Yes. Catching animals at one location and releasing them elsewhere is how invasive species are introduced. Don't ever do it.

Reptar!
02-22-2011, 03:38 AM
I never thought about that. Thank you. If I get one from another state is the snake at risk of any health issues from the elevation difference? I live at around 6000 feet above sea level. Would it cause any unnecessary stress coming up to this level? I really don't have to have a snake from somewhere else. I just think they are cool. As I said and I am sure you have picked up on, I'm pretty new to this. I am just trying to get these questions answered before I mess up and make the snake suffer.

gregmonsta
02-22-2011, 05:17 AM