PDA

View Full Version : Ofiicial Introduction

Ryachanira
11-09-2010, 10:18 PM
So it seems my little backyard snake has gotten me totally hooked on snakes, so I may be here to stay - even though I plan on just the one snake. I am convinced I want more but the husband says no way - bummer. As such, I figured a bit of an official intro may be in order, just to give a little bit of info about myself! :)

My name is Jenny, I am 24 and live in northeast Kansas. I am a third year MD/PhD student, having completed my first two years of medical school, passed step one of the boards and am currently in my first year of research. My research involves testing new natural compounds as chemotherapeutic agents on a specific type of leukemia. It is a lot of fun and so far things are looking promising! I hope to have a drug (or two!) in clinical trials soon, which is very exciting.

I have been married for almost two years to the boy I sat next to in freshman biology as a 14-year-old in high school. He asked me to Homecoming that year, and although we have had our off-again-on-again moments, we survived a four year long-distance stretch through undergraduate school (I still claim he ditched me, haha) and are now in the MD/PhD program together. We have two cats that are our babies, Leo and Luna. They are 2.5 year old bengals and think they are people. We kind of agree. I also have two gerbils - they are sisters and used to live together until they declanned and tried to kill each other... now they each live alone.