PDA

View Full Version : would you breed siblings together or not?

bmreptile
06-23-2009, 02:05 PM
I have been offered a pair or trio of het albino checkered garters at an unbeatable price.... thing is they are related nd i dont know if ethically i would feel good about breeding siblings together.
what are your thoughts?

Didymus20X6
06-23-2009, 02:11 PM
I'm no expert, but it would seem to me that inbreeding can cause genetic problems in the future. It might be okay for one generation, but I wouldn't breed those offspring together.

adamanteus
06-23-2009, 02:19 PM
Breeding between siblings or between parent and offspring is pretty much standard practice in the hobby. Obviousy, if you can get an unrelated pair it's better, or introduce 'fresh blood' further down the line when the chance arises.

bmreptile
06-23-2009, 02:26 PM
your in the uk mate, don suppose you have any garters or waters for sale?

adamanteus
06-23-2009, 02:29 PM
You're in the UK, mate. Don't suppose you have any garters or waters for sale?

Sure do! Follow the link in my signature, and go to 'For sale/Exchange'.:)

bmreptile
06-23-2009, 02:31 PM
i see you have some florida blue garters? or just common garters? ether way poss het melanistic. some reason i think these will be out my price range! :(

adamanteus
06-23-2009, 02:34 PM
No, the Florida Blues have already gone. Sorry.

MasSalvaje
06-23-2009, 07:15 PM
I have been offered a pair or trio of het albino checkered garters at an unbeatable price.... thing is they are related nd i dont know if ethically i would feel good about breeding siblings together.
what are your thoughts?