PDA

View Full Version : Hi, I'm new here

Nataseya
02-05-2007, 08:46 AM
I’m new to snakes as well. I just got my first one. (Not by choice, he was a gift)

I know very little about caring for snakes & the care instructions that accompanied him are somewhat vague. If any of y’all could answer a few questions my snake & I would be most grateful.

What to feed & how often - instructions said “snake food” every now & then (What does that mean?)

Housing - The previous owner kept him in this tiny little box with just a small water dish. I personally feel that this is unacceptable. (What is an appropriate size cage & what should be included in it?)

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
S.

Snaky
02-05-2007, 02:51 PM
Hi Nataseya, welcome to the forum.

There is a section where you can find quite some picture's for the enclosure:
section (http://www.thamnophis.com/forum/enclosures/)
You can see lot's of picture's of how others decorated their cages. As for the size: Garters are active snakes that use the size that you give them, so I'd always go for a quite nice cage. My cages are 100x50x50 cm, but if I had the room I would prefer 120x60x60 cm. This is certainly big enough for a trio.

For the food, I'll direct you to the new wiki :) :
If you're wondering about the food, you've probably never heard of thiaminase, so this is quite interesting to know: Thiaminase (http://www.thamnophis.com/caresheets/index.php?title=Thiamin,)
This is a global thread about food on the wiki:
general caresheet (http://www.thamnophis.com/caresheets/index.php?title=Garter_Snake_Care_Sheet#Feeding)
I can certainly advice you to use the search function for words like red earthworm, fish, steak, pinkies, ...

I hope this gives you an idea, feel free to ask some other questions.

Sid
02-05-2007, 03:09 PM
Hi Nataseya and welcome to the forum.:) A couple of questions so we can better help you out.