PDA

View Full Version : New and confused

mtolypetsupply
10-04-2008, 11:56 AM
Hi all, I'm new to this world and confused about all the abbreviations and some of the meanings regarding coloring.

I've looked up some of the words, but other abbreviations are confusing. For two examples, I saw somethings on other posts like:

Piebald, which I am familiar with from horses, meaning black and white, but the snake was not black and white

and

100% "Het", which I would have interpreted to mean "heterozygous" for the color trait, is that the percent chance that it is het? Or am I way off on what is being conveyed here?

If there's a good post already or a reference online for all these terms, I'd love to have a link to it.

Thanks so much!
Stephi

EdgyExoticReptiles
10-04-2008, 12:05 PM
There are lots of different morphs of different snakes and there named many different things
a piebald in a snake has random patches of white, here it is in aball python
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v690/lizardsofoz/IMG_3596.jpg

Hi all, I'm new to this world and confused about all the abbreviations and some of the meanings regarding coloring.

I've looked up some of the words, but other abbreviations are confusing. For two examples, I saw somethings on other posts like:

Piebald, which I am familiar with from horses, meaning black and white, but the snake was not black and white

and

100% "Het", which I would have interpreted to mean "heterozygous" for the color trait, is that the percent chance that it is het? Or am I way off on what is being conveyed here?

If there's a good post already or a reference online for all these terms, I'd love to have a link to it.

Thanks so much!
Stephi

aSnakeLovinBabe
10-04-2008, 12:06 PM
you are 110% white, a piebald snake has areas of white on it, and the "hets: you saw are (hopefully) carrying this trait and will produce some when bred back to one another.

EdgyExoticReptiles
10-04-2008, 12:08 PM
and yea het is short for heterozygous,