PDA

View Full Version : help sexing...

bob
01-11-2007, 02:00 PM
hi, i've read through the previous posts about sexing, and realise how hard it is to be 100%, but can any one make some suggestions about this snake?

http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r47/bobmcpop/hjgfhjfg.jpg

Stefan-A
01-11-2007, 03:18 PM
Very hard to see from that picture, but what do I know, I'm just a beginner. It would probably help a lot if the entire tail or even the entire animal was visible, since one of the signs is the relative length of the tail, as well as how it is shaped.

bob
01-11-2007, 03:27 PM
hey,

haha it was hard enough just to take a pic of the underside of its tail, dont' fink i'l be able to manage taking a pic of the whole underside

if i try and see if i can use some string or something to find the ratio will that help? its only a young snake.

Snaky
01-11-2007, 03:41 PM
I'm also quite bad at seeing the gender. But if you have an experienced person, you can let him 'pop'. It's quite an effective way to know the gender, but should be learned to you by an experienced person otherwise you might hurt the snake (as being told, I can't pop myself, it's on the to learn list).

Otherwise, wait till the snake is a bit older, than it become's more visible.

abcat1993
01-11-2007, 04:05 PM
Or you can probe (I think that's what it's called). Also, I don't think you need a shot of the entire underside, just the top.

Cazador
01-11-2007, 09:09 PM
Hi Bob,
Welcome to the forum. I think you're our first member from Ireland, so I really hope you like it here and hang around! There isn't much I could add that Stefan hasn't alread said. My first impression is that it's a male, but I'm not at all confident of that. It might help if you can put it on a glass table and take a picture from beneath. Also, the side view is helpful, but it's a tough call in those pictures, even though they're very clear.

ssssnakeluvr
01-12-2007, 09:04 AM