PDA

View Full Version : hides in the water jar all the time

stewartscience
03-18-2008, 10:53 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum, but this is my 2nd garter snake. (the first one escaped and was never found) It's actually a ribbon snake that I've been feeding minnows, mostly, for about a couple of years. I'm keeping it in a 7th grade science classroom. It has an under the tank rubberized heating pad on one end, a gallon plastic box for the fish, and pathos growing out of a quart jar and two different hides. It's been hiding in the jar with pathos roots for weeks and months -- sometimes coming out to bask in the very early morning and sometimes only to feed. Is this ok? I just let it do what it wants, but worry about being too wet all the time.

thanks,
Mrs. S

adamanteus
03-19-2008, 03:09 PM
Hi Pamela, and welcome to the forum.:)
I'm not sure what pathos roots are, so I can't fully visualise the problem. But if the snake is permanently in water this could indeed lead to skin problems. Maybe if you rearrange the tank and offer more/ different hiding opportunities, that might encourage her out of the water. It may be that the hides you have in there at the moment are 'unattractive' to her for whatever reason (temp?)

aSnakeLovinBabe
03-19-2008, 05:55 PM
yea, sounds to me like it just likes where those roots are the best. If they are in water I would do as james just suggested! I find that snakes tend to choose hides that are warm, low to the ground and very dark inside. the lower it is to the ground the more secure they seem to feel.

Odie
03-19-2008, 07:10 PM
Hi, from Oregon, Pamela :)

GarterGuy
03-20-2008, 10:14 AM