PDA

View Full Version : New Garter Owner

ShelBelle
08-21-2007, 10:32 AM
Hello, fellow garter lovers. This is my first time on the forum here as well as owning a garter.

We (sons and I) rescued (okay, kidnapped) a garter from our back yard. The kids named her Wendy to go with our cat's name Tinker Bell. We think she is a female because she is fairly narrow at her vent compared to the males; who seem to have wider vents to allow for the hemipenes. ;)

Ok, this is my problem (or is it). Wendy is a wonderful eater. Unfortunately, all she wants to eat is fish (guppies). I have tried pinkies, earth worms, crickets, and meal worms. I also tried putting her in a feeding tank with just the food and she had no interest. I have been feeding live guppies to her in her pond. She seems to really enjoy the stalking of the fish and the ultimate kill. :D

I have had her for about three weeks now. So far she has eaten about twenty guppies. I just put them in her pond and feed them until she dines on them. :eek:

I guess what I am asking is if I am doing the right thing with her and if not what should I change and how. I am open to suggestions.

Thanks, and I hope you all have a wonderful day. :)

PS: I have had rubber boas as pets before and even had a live birth with one of them. They were very easy to feed; they loved mice. :p

adamanteus
08-21-2007, 01:09 PM
Hi Shelley, and welcome to the forum.:)

I'm pleased to hear that your snake is feeding so well. If you want to add a little variety to her diet you could try 'scenting' a pinky....just rub a guppy all over it until it takes on the scent, then offer it to your snake. Maybe wiggle it a little to get her interested! Good luck.

drache
08-21-2007, 01:22 PM
hi ShelBelle
welcome to this forum
which part of the US do you live in?
there are a number of different garter species with different food preferences