PDA

View Full Version : Intro

kerensa
06-21-2012, 11:36 AM
Hello, My name is Kerensa.

I have been keeping reptiles for over 20 years. Recently I decided I was going to get some Garter snakes.
I think that I am most interested in the Eastern, and am considering them solely at this point. (although I've seen some
Prairie that tempt me.)
I'm here for a number or reasons, the first is research. Of course only an idiot would get a new pet with out
doing any sort of research. I may be many things, I hope I'm not an idiot. ;)
The second is I hope to find better sources of Easterns then I had access to previously. There is a local pet store I could
purchase some from, they are not expensive. Neither are the snakes robust in my opinion. They are still fairly small (about 12 inches),
and may turn out healthy and strong in the long run; however, I am not impressed. They appear to either have suffered malnutrition
at some point (or perhaps still) or to be inbred. In any case they are not snakes I wish to have in my collection at this point.
The third reason is to be able to discuss my interest with others whom share it. I'm sure everyone else is here because they are
devoted to avoiding such conversation, right? yeah, I thought not.

A little about myself. I am back in college, finishing up a couple of degrees. (anthropology-concentration archeology, and fine arts concentration sculpture and pottery) More about this later if anyone is actually interested and wishes to hear about the Chemical analysis of ancient remains, or the seriation of several thousand pottery shards.