PDA

View Full Version : New forum area?? Maybe new gallery section??

Dan72
05-04-2012, 08:37 AM
First off I love this forum. Still learnning my way around, both the forum and garters. So I'm thinking to myself what would help me learn more about these wonderful reptiles and what could help the site stand out and maybe be a draw for visitors and members alike? So keep in mind I have no idea what it would take to achieve this but here goes..... how about a section where you could click on an image of a snake (sub species X) and when the image comes up or opens the window (whatever) you get general info like name, location where found, things like that. Maybe the pics are some cut and paste job from the net or maybe to make it more personal the pics could be of members snakes. I'm not a computer programer kind of guy, again I'm not sure what kind of work this would be, but I know that to have an area of the net where a person could go and learn (general info) and see pics of these snakes we all love that would be very cool. My list of snakes that I feel I must own grows everyday because I'm doing a Google search, or I see something on youtube, whatever. But to stay right here on the forum and discover these images for the first time would be something that most people visiting the forum or long time members alike would get enjoyment from. So...... any thoughts?:p

guidofatherof5
05-04-2012, 08:55 AM
Before the forum software upgrade we had a "Photographic Library" which did some of what you are asking about.
Someone with the powers and time to set it up again will need to do that.

Stefan-A
05-04-2012, 11:23 AM
The Photographic Library was a really crappy solution. All species and subspecies were on the same page and there were dozens of pictures to load. Many of the pictures disappeared over time, as members deleted them or hosting services stopped hosting them.

guidofatherof5
05-04-2012, 11:25 AM
Sounds like it's time for something different.