PDA

View Full Version : Someone help me please

BlakeTheSnake
03-29-2012, 12:43 PM
So i just found this garter outside in my yard, and i was wondering if someone could help me figure out what kind of garter he is. Thanks!

katach
03-29-2012, 12:58 PM
A location of where it was found would be helpful. Also we can tell you if you have a boy or a girl if you could get some pics of the underside where the vent is.

BlakeTheSnake
03-29-2012, 01:05 PM
I live in Delaware County. Which is southeast PA. and ok ill get some more pics up soon

guidofatherof5
03-29-2012, 01:06 PM
Looks like the lateral is row 2 and 3.

BlakeTheSnake
03-29-2012, 01:33 PM
I am fairly new to garters, so could you please explain what that means??

wolfpacksved
03-29-2012, 01:45 PM
Thamnophis sirtalis sirtalis

guidofatherof5
03-29-2012, 03:00 PM
I am fairly new to garters, so could you please explain what that means??

Sorry for that post. I was just adding some information to help with the I.D.

The lateral stripe is on the side of a garter snake.
Its location (which row of scales the stripe occupies) is important to know.

http://www.thamnophis.com/thamphotos/data//500/lateral.jpg

katach
03-29-2012, 03:10 PM
Looks like an eastern to me. Here is a web site with the various species of herps in your area.
Snakes of Pennsylvania | PA HERP IDENTIFICATION (http://www.paherps.com/herps/snakes)

BlakeTheSnake
03-29-2012, 03:26 PM
ok thank you Steve! and yes I thought it was an eastern too

EasternGirl
03-29-2012, 03:33 PM
That is an eastern...looks exactly like Cee Cee. Looks like it really needs to eat.

BlakeTheSnake
03-29-2012, 03:43 PM
That is an eastern...looks exactly like Cee Cee. Looks like it really needs to eat.

OK thanks! and yes i know, I have tried to feed him fuzzies and earthworms. I'm going to give him about a week and try again.

guidofatherof5
03-29-2012, 03:47 PM
You are probably going to have more luck getting your snake to eat worms after it settles in then mice.