PDA

View Full Version : husbandry and species questions

Eight
03-29-2012, 11:16 AM
Hi guys, I'm new to garters and want to learn about them before I get any, so if you can add any relevant info at all please feel free to post :)

I've kept snakes before, so I'm no stranger, but I've only just started looking into garters. Are the husbandry requirements much different (other than temps and the like)? How much space do they need? And will they utilise arboreal setups?

Also I came across ribbon snakes in a magazine. Are they a sub species or totally different? I read that ribbons can be kept communaly and wondered if garters are the same.

Also could someone post a list of good food items for their diet. I'm consulting care sheets too but its always good to get opinions from a group of keepers.

Many thanks to anyone that can help

Sam

infernalis
03-29-2012, 10:23 PM
Hi Sam, This care sheet is a group effort by the members here, and really the best one for you to study:

Garter Snake Forum - Garter Caresheet (http://www.thamnophis.com/index.php?page=caresheet)

And yes, many of us keep more than one garter snake in a cage at a time, Just make sure they are either the same sex, or the same sub-species.

As for food, acceptable items are in our care sheet, I feed pinkie mice and trout, others feed fish and night crawlers, opinions vary, I'm sure everyone will be happy to give their viewpoints along the way.

Enjoy your time on the forum.

Didymus20X6
03-29-2012, 11:38 PM
Ribbons and garters are the same genus (Thamnophis). However, there are numerous species within the genus.

EasternGirl
03-30-2012, 12:21 AM