PDA

View Full Version : T.s. parietalis Coloring: Whats the Norm and whats Not

InsanePirateDragon
03-15-2012, 12:09 AM
A total Newbie question here, but I just want more visuals of what to really expect. This is for those who have these guys and all the shades that they come in. I'm not sure how red these guys get since Marley's my first Parietalis so I'm not sure what to expect.

Now Marley's a WC Kansan Strain so I know thats going to factor in so she might be and extreme and unique in some ways, thats pretty much all that I know but I don't know really what to except, I couldn't produce much from trusty Google.

But how red are yours guys' Parietalis. Did they loose color as they got older or did they color up more or are they from Kansas strains.

chris-uk
03-15-2012, 03:03 AM
My parietalis was wild caught, probably from Canada. She has no red at all, not even between the scales when she's eaten and bulging.

ConcinusMan
03-15-2012, 03:52 AM
Very high red CB lines are available in the hobby after years of captive selective breeding but really high reds are rare in the wild, and many "red sided" do not have red at all or just traces of red. If you'll notice, sirtalis is a species that was first described on the east coast of north america. (eastern garter, T. sirtalis sirtals) so naturally, going north and/or west, when they discovered a T. sirtalis subspecies that tends to have red on the sides, they named it "red sided". It wasn't until many years later that other sirtalis subspecies were discovered, especially on the west coast, that they realized other sirtalis subspecies actually tend to have a lot of red on their sides. Even more so than "red sided" (parietalis)

Fitchii, infernalis', concinnus' have consistently more red than parietalis'. But the naming was already done. What can you do? You know?