PDA

View Full Version : shipping

aquamentus_11
03-04-2012, 02:26 PM
I realized that I soon won't be able to give Hydra the care and attention she needs with regard to her tail and shedding, etc. Steve was good enough to allow her to come live with him. The problem is...I have no experience with shipping snakes. Which is the best service to use? Where do I get heat packs and how many do I need? A detailed description of how people do this would be very helpful.

EasternGirl
03-04-2012, 05:59 PM
I think your best bet would probably be to call Steve and discuss the details on how to do this with him. He has a lot of experience in this and will surely give you his number...I think it may even be on his profile page. I know that my breeder puts his snakes in a deli cup and then puts them in an insulated container. Whether or not you should use a heat pack will depend on the weather...I know you don't want to use a heat pack if the temps are going to be warm when you are shipping because it can cause the snake to get too warm. You can use Fed Ex or UPS...my breeder uses UPS overnight delivery and specifies what time to have the snake delivered in the morning and sends tracking info so that I can track the package. But I would talk to Steve and see what he recommends and what shipping service he wants you to use...he probably uses one service for his shipping.

mikem
03-04-2012, 06:03 PM
you can't legally ship snakes with ups. here's a list they can and can not ship:

Accepted Live Animals

This is a comprehensive list of live animals accepted for transportation. Shippers are prohibited from shipping any animal not listed here, and all other live animals will not be accepted for transportation. The following live animals are accepted for transportation unless poisonous, venomous, and/or a Threatened or Endangered Species.

Amphibians (All): Examples: frogs, salamanders, toads
Crustaceans (All): Examples: crabs, crawfish, lobsters, shrimp
Fish (All)